Fashion, Uncategorized

Stylish Sneakers

Firstly, I would like to take just a moment to say after a brief hiatus, the Gypsy Prince of Fashion is back! I felt myself getting caught up with work and forgetting that there is life outside the tea shop. So after two months, I have decided to reiterate my creative juices and get back into the swing of blogging.

While there is a plethora of new fashion news to discuss, what really prompted me to write was just the other day, when I was catching up with my darling friend Melina Morry ( aka the Lady-Like Leopard) discussing how difficult it is to find stylish yet sensible sneakers at a fair price. Finding the perfect pair of running shoes, just like finding the perfect pair of jeans, is one of those long and painfully enduring processes but once you find the perfect pair, there is no greater feeling.

Growing up, my feet were forcibly put into the cheap and very unfashionable running shoes of Wal-Mart and Payless that were friendly for my family’s low budget. That’s probably what made me dislike sneakers so much because once I became old enough to take my fashion sense seriously I never wore a pair of running shoes again. Most recently, fun and not always sensible footwear has been my go to, from vintage cowboy boots to Japanese harajuku girl platform creepers.

In the world where platform stilettos or other dress shoes were the only option for stylish fashionistas, it wasn’t until last year that sneakers made a comeback in fashion. Suddenly it was cool for women to pair sneakers with leggings and a sweater, and for men to wear bright colored sneakers with their outfits. As the trend got hotter, more and more companies started designing new runners to appeal to fashionistas. Bold colors, unconventional materials, and platforms are just some of the characteristics that were brought to the table when creating new styles for runners.

There have been quite a few stylish sneakers that came from designer collaborations in the past, like Alexander McQueen for Puma as well as Jeremy Scott for Adidas. McQueen’s designs played with silhouettes and shapes while Scott’s runners featured everything from gilded wings to fluffy pink plush poodle heads. Since then, more and more designer labels have adapted the sneaker into their collections and have even paired up with some of the more well known running shoe brands.

Check out these killer Raf Simons x Adidas ss15 shoes that caught my eyes. I’m a total sucker for anything with a platform (seeing as I stand less than 5’5 I love anything that will elevate me to new heights) but I am loving the psychedelic color-blocking and the futuristic aesthetic of the shoes. I’d die for the pink ones!

rsa 2rsa

 

What are your favorite brands for running shoes? Comment and tell me what you think!

Stay fab,

Dakota

Standard

Leave a comment